Main Content

Primary Awards Banquet to Honor Senators John Kerry and John McCain, and the late David Broder

July 29, 2011

Story by: Barbara LeBlanc

The Political Library at the New Hampshire Institute of Politics at Saint Anselm College is pleased to announce that it will honor U.S. Senators John Kerry and John McCain, and the late David Broder of The Washington Post, at the 2011 New Hampshire Primary Awards. The awards ceremony is on Friday, September 16, 6 p.m. at the Brady Sullivan Plaza (3rd Floor), Manchester, NH.

The New Hampshire Primary Awards recognize and honor individuals who have demonstrated strong support for the first-in-the-nation New Hampshire Presidential Primary, and celebrate the important role this national political institution plays in the presidential selection process. Past honorees have included New Hampshire Primary winners Sen. Gary Hart and Pat Buchanan, as well as Sen. Bill Bradley, Gov. Mitt Romney, ABC's George Stephanopoulos, and Jill Zuckman of the Chicago Tribune.

Sen. Kerry of Massachusetts, now serving his fifth consecutive term in Congress, will be recognized for conducting a strong primary campaign in New Hampshire and winning the 2004 New Hampshire Presidential Primary. Sen. McCain of Arizona, now serving his fourth consecutive term in Congress, will be recognized for his campaign in New Hampshire, which included more than 100 town hall-style meetings. He then went on to win the 2008 New Hampshire Presidential Primary.

David Broder, who passed away in March 2011, was a national political correspondent for The Washington Post. He will be honored posthumously for his many years of reporting on the New Hampshire Presidential Primary. His colleague and friend Dan Balz of The Washington Post will accept the award on his behalf. In addition, New Hampshire's Congressional Delegation and Governor John Lynch will serve as Honorary Event Chairs.

Community members interested in attending the event should call (603) 222-4100 or e-mail by September 2, 2011.

Media interested in attending should contact Barbara LeBlanc, Director of News and Information, at (603) 486-8760.

View Mobile Site