Kevin B. Harrington Student Ambassador Program Gains 36 Members

January 22, 2020

By Alexis Soucy

The New Hampshire Institute of Politics (NHIOP) welcomed 36 new students into the Kevin B. Harrington Student Ambassador Program on January 17. In addition to politics, their majors include biology, business, international relations, classical archaeology, and education. They represent most of New England as well as Northern Ireland, Ohio, Maryland, and New York.

The Kevin B. Harrington Student Ambassador Program now has 118 members, who play key roles at NHIOP events as they greet, usher, and introduce guests and VIPs. In addition, each ambassador serves on one of the program’s four committees – civic engagement, communication, community outreach, or student events. 

This year, many ambassadors may also extend their experiences to media outlets visiting campus and the greater Manchester area in productions leading up to New Hampshire’s first-in-the-nation presidential primary on February 11, including the Democratic presidential primary debate hosted by Saint Anselm.

During past presidential primaries, student ambassadors have served as stand-ins for candidates and moderators on the debate stage, runners for major television hosts, and ushers for thousands of guests, all of which can lead to future opportunities. For example, Kelsey Walsh '17 helped with debate production during the 2016 cycle and is now a production assistant at ABC News. Ashling Stanek '17 was a runner for MSNBC's Morning Joe and primary coverage, and went on to work in production at MSNBC after graduation.

“It is a very exciting time for the Kevin B. Harrington Student Ambassadors,” said program co-chair Jenifer Wallitsch ’21. “The ambassador program provides truly once-in-a-lifetime opportunities that often lead to future internships or employment from major television networks. I look forward to hearing about all of the amazing work my fellow ambassadors will do in the coming weeks!”

New Kevin B. Harrington Student Ambassadors

Meghan Allen ’23 
Andrew Barbetto ’23 
James Beaudry ’22  
Olivia Boudreau ’23 
Carter Brannon ’23 
Daniel Bryan ’23 
Meredith Budds ’22 
Olivia Carlson ’23 
Joseph Cavanaugh ’22 
Sara Danner ’23 
Molly DeAcetis ’23 
Meaghan Hennessey ’23 
Kristen Hinkle ’22 
John Hodgdon ’22 
Courtney Hull ’23 
Emma Killham ’23 
Gianna Liberatore ’23 
Jessica Long ’22 
Kelsey Lutchman ’22 
Elizabeth Manning ’22 
Patrick Marcoux ’23 
Maeve McAllister ’23 
Kathryn Monahan ’23 
Eric O'Connor ’23 
Natalie O'Konis ’22 
Maggie Peterson ’23 
Brady Quinn ’23 
Thomas Robinson ’22 
Alyssa Stankevitz ’23 
Jordan Taggart ’21 
AJ Tamburino ’23 
Kenneth Tran ’23 
Cooper Walsh ’23 
Erin White ’22 
Madeline Wiser ’23 
Kiera Wright ’22