Fifty-Nine Students Inducted into First Year Honor Society

July 1, 2019

By Brayden Rollins

This spring, 59 Saint Anselm College students were accepted into Alpha Lambda Delta, a national scholastic honor society for first-year college students.

Alpha Lambda Delta considers for membership those undergraduates with an academic ranking in the top 20% of their class, and who maintained a 3.5 or higher grade point average during their first term or first year of study. Candidates must also demonstrate dedication to intellectual activity and service to their community.

In New Hampshire, Saint Anselm College is the only institute of higher education with an active chapter of this honor society, although it is one of over 275 chapters nationally.

During the ceremony on April 5, Professor Derk Wierda was initiated into the society as an honorary member in recognition for his work as a professor of the chemistry department and as the director of the Conversatio program. Wierda gave the keynote address to the inductees, families, and friends assembled in Perini Lecture Hall of the Goulet Science Center.

The society also honored English major Nina Lukens ’19 with the Maria Leonard Senior Book Award. This award recognizes a graduating member who has maintained a 3.5 GPA and demonstrated the honor society’s pillars of academic excellence, service to others, and leadership. The other student nominees for this award were Jenna Kate Bisbee ’19 (International Relations) and Abigail Reynolds ’18 (Marketing).

2019 Inductees, Members of the Class of 2022

Danielle Abdennour
Sydney Baxter
Sarah Best
Emma Bickford
Nichole Bourque
Rose Callahan
Annelise Ciccone
Isabella Cipriano
Perrin Conant
Emily Cormier
Julianna Corsetto
Arianna Costa
Amelie Crowe
Brian Deignan
Kristyn Demers
Thomas DeRoche
Nathan Duplessis
Dominique Engle
Eleni Goddu
Erin Golden
Jacob Halterman
Stephen Hanabergh
Ryan Heath
Carolyn Hill
John Hodgdon
Alexandra Hurlbert
Vanessa Krause
Julia Krutul
Kristen LaBrie
Madison Lessard
Ariana LoFaro
Kyle Machado
Eileen MacVicar
Ann Manning
Kristen Martin
Audrey McDonough
Andrea McNeil
Katherine Menice
Caitlin Merrill
Victoria Mirabito
Anastasia Morrison
Rachel Nazzaro
Claire Newhall
Nicholas O'Keefe
Elizabeth Philbrook
Tyler Reynolds
Hannah Robichaud
McKenzie Robinson
Emma Scimone
Mackenzie Shaw
Sarah Stagnone
Sean Thompson
Amber Topping
Hanna VanderBaan
Allyson Vermette
Alison Walsh
Katherine Williams
Stephanie Wilson
Darren Woods