Current Section

Center for Teaching Excellence

Bookmark and Share

Main Content

Faculty Learning Communities

During the summer, the CTE sponsors Faculty Learning Communities (FLCs) centered around a single pedagogical theme. These faculty work together in small groups toward developing new courses and teaching materials, and toward learning new approaches to teaching.  Participants are supported with a modest stipend and are chosen through an application process.

FLC Summer 2017

The CTE invites small faculty groups to spend this summer exploring new ways of teaching information and media literacy in the college classroom. FLC projects will be designed by faculty groups and may take a wide variety of forms. Projects may include, for example, faculty development reading and discussion groups; collaborating on new assignments or curricula; developing digital course material in consultation with Geisel Library or Instructional Technology; organizing a symposium or a speaker series; re-designing existing courses, and more.

Recent FLC Programs

Summer 2016
Interdisciplinary Team-teaching Course Development
Suggested Reading: Kathryn M. Plank, ed., Team Teaching: Across the Disciplines, Across the Academy (2012).

Summer 2015
Development of video microlectures on topics designed to assist instructors in the freshman core seminar program, Conversatio.

Summer 2014
Developing  Writing Intesive Courses
Suggested Reading: John C. Bean, Engaging Ideas: The Professor's Guide to Integrating Writing, Critical Thinking, and Active Learning in the Classroom (2011).

Summer 2013
Creating Learning Goals for Core Curriculum Courses
Suggested Reading: L. Dee Fink, Creating Significant Learning Experiences: An Integrated Approach to Designing College Courses (2013).

Summer 2010 and Summer 2011
As the College moved to develop a new Core Curriculum, during these summers FLC groups read core texts on promoting engaged learning in the classroom, reflected on their own teaching techniques and goals, updated their syllabi and assessment tools and discussed how to apply their learning in their fall classes. In the fall members meet to share their classroom experiences and visit each other's classroom to see how the techniques in the reading work in practice. Each group will then give a presentation in the spring to share their insights with the rest of the faculty.

View Mobile Site