On Sat., April 27, 2024, 96 student nurses received their pins at the annual nurse pinning ceremony in the Abbey Church. The blessed tradition commemorates the nursing students’ hard work and accomplishments. This was the first time this class of nurses was able to gather with their friends, family, faculty, and staff, as their 2022 Blessing of the Hands Ceremony was closed to the public due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It was also the first pinning ceremony since the creation of the Jean School of Nursing and Health Sciences.

“You will be amazing nurses because of what you learned on the Hilltop, and not just because of your nursing courses, but all of the other courses and activities that you have taken part in as well,” said Maureen O’Reilly, Ph.D., RN, director of undergraduate nursing, who will be retiring at the end of the academic year.

“I truly believe that there is no way that I would be the student, future nurse, or person I am now if I was not a part of the Saint Anselm College Nursing Program,” shared Erin Doyle ’24, the student speaker, in a reflection on her past four years as a nursing student and a student-athlete.

“Although we may be thinking (or maybe not want to think), ‘WOW how are we taking the NCLEX in a month?’ We are ready. We are receiving these pins today because we have earned them. We are receiving theses pins today because we are ready for the next step,” concluded Doyle. “In the past four years, not only have I learned so much from my professors, clinical instructors, family and friends, but I have learned so much from all of you, my peers.”

The pins were blessed by former Abbot Mark Cooper, O.S.B., during his final time presiding over the pinning. Professors Jennifer O’Neill, MSN, RN, PCCN, Carrie MacLeod ’83, Ph.D., APRN-BC, Michele Moreau, MSN, RN-BC, and Joann Condon, MSN, RN, presented the pins to the students.

Cecillia Keddy ’24 received the Dr. Joanne K. Farley Award which recognizes a student who exemplifies the attributes of Dr. Farley and is a true representation of her. Gabby Constantine ’24 received the Dr. Joyce Clifford Student Leader Award.

Carrie MacLeod ’83, Ph.D., RN, received the inaugural DAISY Faculty award, and Sofia Freeman ’24 received the inaugural DAISY Student award. The DAISY Award is a prestigious designation that continuously honors compassionate and skilled nurses in over 6,000 schools of nursing and healthcare facilities internationally.

The nursing class of 2024 proceeded to light the candles that honor and remember those they have cared for and loved ones who are no longer with them.

The student nurses and nurses in the audience took the Nightingale Pledge, an oath to honor and respect their patients and profession. The ceremony was then followed by a celebration Mass.  

To watch the full 2024 Nurse Pinning Ceremony click this link.

Photo of the Nursing Class of 2024